ListMoto - Italian Football League System

--- Advertisement ---


The ITALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE SYSTEM, also known as the ITALIAN FOOTBALL PYRAMID, refers to the hierarchically interconnected league system for the association football in Italy
, that consists of 594 divisions having 3332 teams (excluding Seconda and Terza Categoria ), in which all divisions are bound together by the principle of promotion and relegation, with one team from San Marino
San Marino
also competing. The system has a hierarchical format with promotion and relegation between leagues at different levels, allowing even the smallest club the theoretical possibility of ultimately rising to the very top of the system.

A certain number of the most successful clubs in each league can rise to a higher league, whilst those that finish at the bottom of their league can find themselves relegated. In addition to sporting performance, promotion is usually contingent on meeting criteria set by the higher league, especially concerning appropriate facilities and finances.

In theory it is possible for a lowly local amateur club to rise to the pinnacle of the Italian game and win the Scudetto . While this may be unlikely in practice (at the very least, in the short run), there certainly is significant movement within the pyramid. The top two levels contain one division each. Below this, the levels have progressively more parallel divisions, which each cover progressively smaller geographic areas.


* 1 History * 2 Structure * 3 See also * 4 References * 5 External links


The first leagues were started by English immigrants in the 1890s in Italy
. The first club was Genoa
and Athletic Club (now Genoa Cricket
it has three divisions (of 18 clubs each) which are generally split on the basis of location.

At the fourth tier is Serie D , a league of nine parallel divisions (in which the clubs are divided by geographical location) that is organised by the Dipartimento Interregionale of the Lega Nazionale Dilettanti . Beneath these are five further levels; four of them, Eccellenza , Promozione , Prima Categoria and Seconda Categoria , are organised by regional committees of the Lega Nazionale Dilettanti; and the last one, Terza Categoria , by provincial committees.

All Serie A, Serie B
Serie B
and Serie C clubs are professional .



1 SERIE A (One national division, 20 clubs)

2 SERIE B (One national division, 22 clubs)

3 SERIE C (3 interregional divisions, 20 clubs in division A, and 18 clubs in each of division B and C)


4 SERIE D (9 interregional divisions, 18 clubs per division)

5 ECCELLENZA (28 regional divisions, 16–18 clubs per division)

6 PROMOZIONE (53 regional divisions, 14–18 clubs per division)

7 PRIMA CATEGORIA (105 regional divisions, 16 clubs per division)

8 SECONDA CATEGORIA (182 regional/provincial divisions, 16 clubs per division)

9 TERZA CATEGORIA (232 provincial divisions, 6–18 clubs per division)

From 2005–06 season, if two or more teams end the league with the same number of points, the final place is given from following criteria (that count for every division):

* Head-to-head records; * Goal difference of head-to-head records; * Goal difference of regular season; * Most of goals scored; * Draw.


* League system * List of football competitions * Serie A
Serie A
* Serie B
Serie B
* Serie C * Lega Pro Prima Divisione * Lega Pro Seconda Divisione * Serie D * Eccellenza * Promozione * Prima Categoria * Seconda Categoria * Terza Categoria * Campionato Primavera * Campionato Berretti * Coppa Italia
Coppa Italia
* Supercoppa Italiana
Supercoppa Italiana
* Coppa Italia
Coppa Italia
Serie C * Supercoppa di Serie C * Supercoppa di Lega di Seconda Divisione * Coppa Italia
Coppa Italia
Serie D * Coppa Italia
Coppa Italia
Dilettanti * Coppa Italia
Coppa Italia
Primavera * Supercoppa Primavera * Torneo di Viareggio * List of football clubs in Italy
* Italian Football League (American football)


* ^